Automatic backup system

The automatic backup system of bibisco (introduced since version 2.3) makes backups of the project you are working on at regular intervals and each time you exit the project.

You choose the directory in which bibisco stores the automatic backups at the first execution of bibisco:

By default, bibisco:

  • makes an automatic backup each time you exit the project, both when you close bibisco and exit the project without closing bibisco.

  • makes an automatic backup if there are any changes in the project and 2 hours have passed since the last backup.

  • keeps a maximum of 10 backup files for a single project in the backup directory. When the maximum number of backups is exceeded, the oldest backup file is deleted.

You can always change these defaults from the settings:

bibisco makes backups by exporting the project as an archive. Each archive file has a significant name:

  • title of the project (orange line)

  • identifier of the project (pink line)

  • timestamp of backup in the form YEAR_MONTH_DAY_HOURS_MINUTES_SECONDS (yellow line).

Automatic backup system is not enough: store backups outside your computer!

Even if we think that it can never happen to us, unfortunately, accidents happen.

Your computer can be stolen, it can fall from your hands and crash on the ground, you can pour coffee over it and make it unusable, the hard drive can corrupt and become unreadable.

So, what can you do to avoid the loss of our work?

You have to store the backups outside of your computer:

  • regularly copying them from the backup folder of your computer to an external hard drive or USB key.

  • choosing as automatic backups' directory, a directory on your computer that is synchronized with your cloud drive.

‚Äč